This evening (Tuesday 11 December) I held a telephone conversation with Dr Amitabh Mitra, publisher of the rhino anthology, and we agreed that the book is progressing nicely and looking very good indeed. It is now in the final stages before publication and is awaiting its signing-off after concluding a thorough proof reading and re-checking. Next step is the printer.

Unfortunately, since the Christmas period in South Africa is when the whole country goes on its summer vacation (and this begins for most people – including those in the printing industry – at the end of this week), it is now most unlikely that For Rhino in a Shrinking World will be available by Christmas as I had hoped and planned.

I regret this profoundly and can only apologise to those of you who had hoped to give the book as a Christmas gift. I really am as  disappointed as anyone, but we have done our best and not quite made it on time.

On the other hand, the book should certainly be ready early in the New Year and I am looking forward very much to its launch then. To be honest, I could not in all conscience have forced the pace and risked the finished product being less than excellent. I do hope you will understand.

As soon as I have any more information I will post it here, so please keep checking in.

On behalf of both myself and our grievously persecuted rhino, I do thank you for your continued support and wish you all the happiest of holiday seasons.

